West Yarmouth - based Spinal Technology was honored at the Massachusetts statehouse today as Legislators celebrated the Massachusetts Manufacturer of the Year from their districts. Rep. Will Crocker nominated Spinal Technology for the 2nd Barnstable district, the State House News Service reported.

Formed in August 2014, the Manufacturing Caucus includes more than 60 legislators from around the Commonwealth. Lawmakers focus on training for manufacturing employees, encouraging innovation by helping start-ups access resources, and expanding apprenticeship opportunities in key manufacturing sectors.

Massachusetts has become a strong leader in advanced manufacturing, and it is important for government and industry to continue to work together to pursue innovation. Under the leadership of Speaker DeLeo and Senate President Spilka, and in conjunction with Governor Baker, the Legislature has made thoughtful investments in this sector. "We continue to look for ways to improve production and provide high paying jobs for the residents of the Commonwealth as manufacturing is vitally important to the Massachusetts economy and our future."

Scheduled speakers at the event included House Speaker Robert DeLeo, co-chairs of the caucus Sen. Eric Lesser and Rep. Jeffrey Roy, Housing and Development Secretary Michael Kennealym and Associated Industries of Massachusetts Vice President of Governmental Affairs Brooke Thomson.

During the annual ceremony, Legislators from the Manufacturing Caucus honor companies from their districts with the “Massachusetts Manufacturer of the Year” award.